Project: Mushroom Dress from Food + Flower + Style

DSC_0292

It's Halloween Week! And as in Halloweens past, my fingers have been itching to do a little sewing. I've had this DIY dress from Food + Flower + Style on my to-do list for a while, and over the weekend I finally finished it. The project consists of a very simple pattern and instructions for how
to make this dress; you don't even have to cut the pattern, just
measure straight onto the fabric. I don't recommend it if you're a
complete sewing newbie, but neither do I think you need loads of
experience for success.

DSC_0120

The nice thing about the dress is you can drape, clip, snip, and adjust it however you like. For example the initial pattern has a turtleneck but we busty gals look best in a V-neck. So I worked a little magic with my scissors and voila! A V-neck! I used inexpensive polyester from Joann Fabric, making the total cost of the dress around $15. Now that I know what I'm doing, I'm going to splurge on real-deal silk and make another one! Though I would use a slightly thicker elastic on the waistband next time, just to suck in the ol' tum-tum a little more…

DSC_0242

I didn't plan for this project to have anything to do with Halloween, but I love how the dress turned out so much that I've decided to build my Halloween costume around
it—just so I can wear it out ASAP! I've already given it two thumbs up on the Danceability Scale (very important!) so stay tuned to see what I'll add to the look for Halloween. Hint: I've fallen prey to the dress's Grecian folds…

11 Responses to “Project: Mushroom Dress from Food + Flower + Style”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Look at you, Ms. Anne! How cute. I like that you tested the twirl (dance) factor too- that is important!
    I can’t wait to see the Halloween look come together, nor the planned silk version.

  2. sushi2 Says:

    I love the color you choose for your dress. I don’t sew, so I live through others creations. I checked the blog you got your pattern from, and I personally liked yours more =).

  3. sushi2 Says:

    I love the color you choose for your dress. I don’t sew, so I live through others creations. I checked the blog you got your pattern from, and I personally liked yours more =).

  4. Mussy Says:

    Nice Work! I didn’t know you sewed! I wasn’t surprised when I read the part about you incorporating your creation into a halloween costume but I was expecting to read that you are planning on being a mushroom! Is there such a thing as a Grecian Mushroom?

  5. Mussy Says:

    Nice Work! I didn’t know you sewed! I wasn’t surprised when I read the part about you incorporating your creation into a halloween costume but I was expecting to read that you are planning on being a mushroom! Is there such a thing as a Grecian Mushroom?

  6. Rachel Says:

    I’m so impressed! No pattern and the color you picked is amazing. And it’s very twirly. Can’t wait to see how you make a costume around it.

  7. Sara Says:

    my my Anne! You are becoming quite the domestic goddess! I love the dress

  8. Rachel Says:

    looks fab, wish I had a sewing machine (one is promised as a wedding present!) x

  9. Georgia Says:

    are you kidding me?
    this is fantastic!
    i am very impressed.
    it is a really cute style.
    i’m definitely what you would consider a newbie, so i won’t be trying it myself.
    but i can honestly say, i would buy it in a store!
    are you the lovely model in the pictures?
    that third picture is really cool!
    Great job, girl!

  10. Chris Says:

    Very impressive! And I really like the cut and color of it. Can’t wait to see the next one!

  11. jessica Says:

    oh man, I want this. it looks so cute and comfortable. love the color too.

Leave a Reply

