Shopping Trip: Goodwill

Depressionglass2

Decorating on a budget: the topic is everywhere these days. And it's not just the current economic climate that has people talking about shopping vintage. Decorating with pre-loved treasures is also better for the environment—it's the best kind of recycling! And there's no better way to create a unique look that's all your own. So this week I hit up my local Goodwill, and I'm so glad I did. Can you believe I bought the above Depression glass sixteen-piece table setting for only twelve dollars?

Milkglassvase

This milk glass vase from the 1950's was a steal for six dollars. I can't wait to go to the farmer's market this weekend and stock up on dahlias for a striking bouquet. And the bubble glass vase below? Two bucks! How perfect will that be for a holiday centerpiece come December?!

Redvase

Goodwill is awesome for lighting, too. For some reason our apartment has no overhead lights so we're dependent on lamps for illumination. This desk lamp reminds me of something you'd see in a movie set from the 1930's. It has such quirky a shape and personality, and it was only six dollars!

Desklamp

For more great tips on Recessionista decorating, check out Eddie Ross, Poetic Home, and Please Sir. Also, be sure to read yesterday's frank and fabulous discussion of the subject from Holly at decor8.

And the only thing that rivals a victorious decor steal? Bragging about it! So tell me…what are your best budget finds for the home?

 

25 Responses to “Shopping Trip: Goodwill”

  1. Kristy Says:

    Wow. I’m jealous of how great the stuff is at your Goodwill. I’ve never been able to find stuff like that where I live. But I now feel inspired to treck to the various locations around town to see what I can dig up!

  2. Kristy Says:

    Wow. I’m jealous of how great the stuff is at your Goodwill. I’ve never been able to find stuff like that where I live. But I now feel inspired to treck to the various locations around town to see what I can dig up!

  3. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    Love your finds!

  4. Leigh Pennebaker Says:

    Love your finds!

  5. Sam Says:

    What a steal. The table setting and lamp are especially gorgeous and finally a a good sized vase that looks great.

  6. Sam Says:

    What a steal. The table setting and lamp are especially gorgeous and finally a a good sized vase that looks great.

  7. Courtney Says:

    Nothing is better than bargain/thrift shopping- it is so satisfying to score a great deal!!
    One of my best finds was a five-piece bedroom set for $125 at a second hand store. Of course, I won’t use the pieces all together, but, they all were pretty amazing, so they will be spread throughout the house! Just need a little TLC and refinishing.

  8. Courtney Says:

    Nothing is better than bargain/thrift shopping- it is so satisfying to score a great deal!!
    One of my best finds was a five-piece bedroom set for $125 at a second hand store. Of course, I won’t use the pieces all together, but, they all were pretty amazing, so they will be spread throughout the house! Just need a little TLC and refinishing.

  9. sushi2 Says:

    I love the depression glass table setting you found. Martha had some in one of her dining photo shoots. I love Eddie Ross’ site too, both of you inspire me to go run to Goodwill right now =).

  10. sushi2 Says:

    I love the depression glass table setting you found. Martha had some in one of her dining photo shoots. I love Eddie Ross’ site too, both of you inspire me to go run to Goodwill right now =).

  11. Rachel Says:

    You scored! I am a thrift store addict, and I can never resist a piece of milk glass. I have a little collection of 1950s Dansk enamel ware that is entirely thrifted.

  12. Rachel Says:

    You scored! I am a thrift store addict, and I can never resist a piece of milk glass. I have a little collection of 1950s Dansk enamel ware that is entirely thrifted.

  13. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    What fantastic treasure finds! I love the lamp and its studious lines.
    My best score was two mid-century modern trapezoid nightstands for only $30! I also picked up our four MCM dining chairs for $60 total. 🙂 I totally believe that decorating on a budget delivers much more creative and unique interiors!

  14. Grace@PoeticHome Says:

    What fantastic treasure finds! I love the lamp and its studious lines.
    My best score was two mid-century modern trapezoid nightstands for only $30! I also picked up our four MCM dining chairs for $60 total. 🙂 I totally believe that decorating on a budget delivers much more creative and unique interiors!

  15. The City Sage Says:

    Kristy- Don’t worry- I had to search for a lot of junk to find a couple good pieces. And I find it helps to go to different stores than just the one in my neighbourhood too. It’s such a rewarding adventure!
    Leigh- Thanks for stopping by!
    Sam- Yes, good vases are hard to find, aren’t they?
    Courtney- Five pieces for $125! What a score! Would love to see a post on those one day 🙂
    Rochelle- I know, I love Eddie’s site too…he’s totally the one who inspired me to go out last weekend and see what I could find!
    Rachel– Don’t you just love the way the light shines through the milk glass and makes it glow? This is my first piece but I’m hooked already.
    Grace- Can I come shopping with you? It sounds like you have a real gift for finding the best bargains! If you ever run out of room for your finds at your house, I’d be happy to take some off your hands 🙂

  16. Mussy Wells Says:

    woo hoo I never thought I’d see the day…..good for you Queenie!

  17. Georgia Says:

    how i love good will shopping sprees!
    my favorite is that desk lamp! if i had found it, i would have bought it and then went and purchased an entire office around it! it’s really great!
    one of my best finds is a bench/table. i couldn’t even tell you what style or era it is from, but i know i got a steal. it is very long and low with metal legs and long planks of smooth wood. it was half price at the good will—$50. it is in perfect condition and looks very high end. i’ll try to take pics and post about it some day.
    also, i once blogged about these awesome 60s(?) chairs that i got for $7.50 each. here is the link:
    http://jorjah-b.blogspot.com/2008/08/this-is-why-i-love-second-hand-stores.html

  18. Chris Says:

    I have found some nice vintage stuff for pretty cheap too, but I have yet to go to Goodwill. I was planning on it a few weeks ago, so thanks for reminding me. I know where I’m heading this weekend!
    Love what you found, though!

  19. robin pulsifer Says:

    ok, i’m seriously re-thinking about where i shop, that’s incredible!

  20. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Great finds, I love the milk glass. You’re right Dahlias will look amazing in there.

  21. betsy Says:

    Oh dear, now I’ll have to spend all day vintage shopping–well, if I must, I must!

  22. Rachel Says:

    They look gorgeous, I love the way you photographed them.
    Some of my best vintage items are ones that have been passed down from our grandparents. I am particularly fond of our tiffany blue china.

  23. The City Sage Says:

    Mussy- Even an old shopping dog can learn new tricks…
    Georgia- Shut UP. I cannot believe you got those chairs for $7.50 each…what a steal! They were gorgeous and I hope they’re enjoying their new home!
    Chris- Just saw the fab cooking range you guys are saving for your dream kitchen…looks like vintage shopping at its best!
    Robin- I know, I was shocked too! ‘Course that doesn’t mean I won’t still be making the trip to Neiman’s now and again 🙂
    Liz- Isn’t milk glass amazing? it’s impossible to find an ugly piece…it’s so magical in its simplicity.
    Betsy- A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!
    Rachel- Yes, hand-me-downs really are the best, not only because they’re gorgeous but because it’s nice to have that bit of family history. And thanks for the photo complement—I’ve been practicing and I’m glad to know that it shows!

  24. Rebecca Says:

    lovely finds! cheers to more of the pink!

  25. Maggie Says:

    I love this post. We’re collecting milk glass in blue, red, and white for our centerpieces…. your image of the red is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

