Shopping Trip: DAY Birger et Mikkelsen

Day1

And now, a study in the kind of trouble that following random links can get you into. Last week Kimberlee at Brown Button had the above image in her sidebar, and what gal in her right mind wouldn't be intrigued? So I clicked and entered the magical world of DAY Birger et Mikkelsen

Day4

DAY is a ten-year-old Danish brand that describes itself as 'Haute Boheme.' They offer men's and women's clothing as well as home goods, and frankly their lifestyle shots make Anthropologie look like a two-bit back alley operation…and that's saying a lot, because I love Anthropologie!

Day5

I just adore this mix of stark, high contrast backdrops and opulent textural detailing. It's as though an Ancient Persian silk merchant has taken up residence in 17th-century Copenhaagen. The liberal use of grey—my favourite color!—certainly doesn't hurt.

Day7

How gorgeous is the styling in this fireplace arrangement? It feels haphazard and meticulous all at once. They've created such sumptuous layers: rugs on top of rugs, pillows and textiles and books piled high, even frames placed one in front of the other. The effect is a depth and richness that makes me want to curl up and get cozy…

Day6

Integral to DAY's mission is the the revival of time-honored craftmanship for contemporary daily life, and this really comes through in their use of materials. The mother of pearl bowls! The hammered metal napkin rings! The homespun farmhouse linens! Just dreamy…

Day10

Of course they don't have an online shopping outpost. And as far as I can tell their products are only sold in Europe (someone! please correct me if I'm wrong!) but that doesn't stop me from formulating my wishlist. Look at the woven seat of this charming campaign stool! I can see two of these placed at the foot of my bed or in a vestibule.
Day12

With Halloween a little more than a week away, I'm somewhat obsessed with spooky looking candleholders, and this one has 'haunted house' written all over it. I'd put two or three in a centerpiece with some glowy white pumpkins.
Day13
This little mirror would be perfect atop a lady's dressing table. Its slim curves are both spare and sexy, and it projects the same serene and effortless beauty that Scandinavian women seem so blessed with.
Day14
I'm a sucker for anything leather, and my salivary glands went into overdrive when I saw this handtooled hide wastebasket! It has all the class of a silver champagne bucket but with a raw and rugged edge. Wastepaper never had it so good…

Day16

I'm usually terrifed of injecting color into my own space (what if I get tired of it?), but this pillow boasts a palette I can get behind. The soft blues and mauves recede gently into the shadows, and the delicate rose stripe adds just the right pop of interest. And check out the great nubbiness in the close-up!
Day19
Those of you who don't live in Denmark or Sweden where DAY's products are sold can drool along with me at their website. And for those of you who are lucky enough to have access to DAY Birger et Mikkelsen…wanna be my new best friend? 🙂

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Shopping Trip: DAY Birger et Mikkelsen”

  1. Georgia Says:

    STUNNING!!!
    I saw that first picture, and immediately heard Feist singing in my head. “One, two, three, four . . .”
    Wonderful! All the purple fabrics and pillows are to die for!
    thank you for your comment on my inspiration/give-away post!
    can’t wait to draw a winner. perhaps it will be you!
    🙂

  2. Juxtaposition Design Says:

    These are some really great finds. My favorites have to be the number toss pillows and the rococo looking chairs in the second picture

  3. The City Sage Says:

    Georgia- Ooh I LOVE that Feist song…and Feist in general. We were just listening to her last night! Maybe she inspired my subconscious to do this post 🙂
    Juxtaposition- Yes, I love the number pillows too. And wouldn’t it be such an easy project to do yourself? Hmmm…you’ve got me thinking!

  4. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    Anne… love your post, love your blog! Those number pillows are fantastic! Although I might be a little OCD about keeping them in numerical order if I had them! haha

  5. Courtney Says:

    There are so many beautiful things in these photos. I am with you on all the grey too!
    I love the number pillows (and the room in that photo) and the wastebasket is incredible!

  6. Chris Says:

    I am quite prepared to drool along with you. I love the idea of the little tables at the foot of the bed, too!

  7. Kimberlee Says:

    Hey darling – um, hello – how good is their stuff!!!! Those numbered pillows are my favourite.
    Did you see the Living Etc article on their holiday house in the bahamas!? – I did a post on it but otherwise just got to Living etc website.
    Thanks for the mention too btw – you are the sweetest! x

  8. dolce chic Says:

    I absolutely love the photo with the sofa and purple pillows. Do you happen to know where I can find them?

Leave a Reply

Shopping Trip: DAY Birger et Mikkelsen

Day1

And now, a study in the kind of trouble that following random links can get you into. Last week Kimberlee at Brown Button had the above image in her sidebar, and what gal in her right mind wouldn't be intrigued? So I clicked and entered the magical world of DAY Birger et Mikkelsen

Day4

DAY is a ten-year-old Danish brand that describes itself as 'Haute Boheme.' They offer men's and women's clothing as well as home goods, and frankly their lifestyle shots make Anthropologie look like a two-bit back alley operation…and that's saying a lot, because I love Anthropologie!

Day5

I just adore this mix of stark, high contrast backdrops and opulent textural detailing. It's as though an Ancient Persian silk merchant has taken up residence in 17th-century Copenhaagen. The liberal use of grey—my favourite color!—certainly doesn't hurt.

Day7

How gorgeous is the styling in this fireplace arrangement? It feels haphazard and meticulous all at once. They've created such sumptuous layers: rugs on top of rugs, pillows and textiles and books piled high, even frames placed one in front of the other. The effect is a depth and richness that makes me want to curl up and get cozy…

Day6

Integral to DAY's mission is the the revival of time-honored craftmanship for contemporary daily life, and this really comes through in their use of materials. The mother of pearl bowls! The hammered metal napkin rings! The homespun farmhouse linens! Just dreamy…

Day10

Of course they don't have an online shopping outpost. And as far as I can tell their products are only sold in Europe (someone! please correct me if I'm wrong!) but that doesn't stop me from formulating my wishlist. Look at the woven seat of this charming campaign stool! I can see two of these placed at the foot of my bed or in a vestibule.
Day12

With Halloween a little more than a week away, I'm somewhat obsessed with spooky looking candleholders, and this one has 'haunted house' written all over it. I'd put two or three in a centerpiece with some glowy white pumpkins.
Day13
This little mirror would be perfect atop a lady's dressing table. Its slim curves are both spare and sexy, and it projects the same serene and effortless beauty that Scandinavian women seem so blessed with.
Day14
I'm a sucker for anything leather, and my salivary glands went into overdrive when I saw this handtooled hide wastebasket! It has all the class of a silver champagne bucket but with a raw and rugged edge. Wastepaper never had it so good…

Day16

I'm usually terrifed of injecting color into my own space (what if I get tired of it?), but this pillow boasts a palette I can get behind. The soft blues and mauves recede gently into the shadows, and the delicate rose stripe adds just the right pop of interest. And check out the great nubbiness in the close-up!
Day19
Those of you who don't live in Denmark or Sweden where DAY's products are sold can drool along with me at their website. And for those of you who are lucky enough to have access to DAY Birger et Mikkelsen…wanna be my new best friend? 🙂

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Shopping Trip: DAY Birger et Mikkelsen”

  1. Georgia Says:

    STUNNING!!!
    I saw that first picture, and immediately heard Feist singing in my head. “One, two, three, four . . .”
    Wonderful! All the purple fabrics and pillows are to die for!
    thank you for your comment on my inspiration/give-away post!
    can’t wait to draw a winner. perhaps it will be you!
    🙂

  2. Juxtaposition Design Says:

    These are some really great finds. My favorites have to be the number toss pillows and the rococo looking chairs in the second picture

  3. The City Sage Says:

    Georgia- Ooh I LOVE that Feist song…and Feist in general. We were just listening to her last night! Maybe she inspired my subconscious to do this post 🙂
    Juxtaposition- Yes, I love the number pillows too. And wouldn’t it be such an easy project to do yourself? Hmmm…you’ve got me thinking!

  4. Rebecca @ Harmony and Home Blog Says:

    Anne… love your post, love your blog! Those number pillows are fantastic! Although I might be a little OCD about keeping them in numerical order if I had them! haha

  5. Courtney Says:

    There are so many beautiful things in these photos. I am with you on all the grey too!
    I love the number pillows (and the room in that photo) and the wastebasket is incredible!

  6. Chris Says:

    I am quite prepared to drool along with you. I love the idea of the little tables at the foot of the bed, too!

  7. Kimberlee Says:

    Hey darling – um, hello – how good is their stuff!!!! Those numbered pillows are my favourite.
    Did you see the Living Etc article on their holiday house in the bahamas!? – I did a post on it but otherwise just got to Living etc website.
    Thanks for the mention too btw – you are the sweetest! x

  8. dolce chic Says:

    I absolutely love the photo with the sofa and purple pillows. Do you happen to know where I can find them?

Leave a Reply

