To Die for Recipe: S’Mores Brownies

DSC_0005

Disclaimer: The City Sage cannot be held responsible for sugar highs, ecstatic trances, and out-of-body experiences that result from consumption of these brownies. Bake at your own risk.

When Courtney at Under a Paper Moon posted these brownies last week, I knew I was in trouble. I waited to make the recipe until a day when I could pawn them off on the hubster's coworkers, thereby emptying my fridge of their quiet yet incessant siren's call.

These brownies are not difficult to make, but they do require time and
patience. I encountered near disaster during the marshmallow phase but
was able to recover. Find the original recipe here, and see my adjustments below.

DSC_0013

I learned the hard way that the best method for doing the
marshmallow part is to cut the brownies before putting the marshmallows on. I made all three layers as instructed. However, the marshmallow layer didn't adhere to the underlayer of chocolate, and when I tried to cut the bars the marshmallows peeled away and took shredded bits of brownie with them. Yikes!

That said, make the graham cracker and chocolate layers and let them cool completely. Remove them from the pan and cut your squares—the recipe says make 12, but I say make at least 16 or 20 because they're quite rich—then layer each square with two to four rounds of marshmallow (I cut large 'mallows in half). Place them on a baking sheet. The marshmallows expand, so make sure to leave plenty of clearance between each brownie.

Set the broiler on low and position the baking sheet as far from the heat source as you can. DON'T TAKE YOUR EYES OFF THEM! You may need to rotate them if some are browning faster than others. They'll be golden and puffy in about two minutes. Oh, and be sure to have a tall, cold glass of milk on hand. You're gonna need it!

7 Responses to “To Die for Recipe: S’Mores Brownies”

  1. Jen Says:

    I give you spinach and you counter with this? Oh my god, my ass will jiggle for a week if I make those. I am so on it!

  2. Peonies and Polaroids Says:

    Oh my, I am getting heart burn just looking at these!

  3. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    Oh my word! They look amazing and we have some marshmallows sitting in the cupboard at the moment :)))

  4. Chris Says:

    Oh goodness, my mouth is watering already! Thanks for another awesome recipe to use for the holidays!

  5. Mussy Wells Says:

    How’d these go over? Has the Hubster ordered more?

  6. The City Sage Says:

    Jen- To be fair, you gave me spinach with bacon and maple syrup…which is like going to Chili’s and ordering the Awesome Blossom as your veggie side 🙂
    Courtney- Well I owe it all to you for finding the recipe! Glad to have been the guinea pig 🙂
    Peony- I could only handle one bite myself…but what a bite it was!
    Jora- They were pretty tasty indeed—and unlike a regular s’more, there’s not risk of burning your mouth on a scalded marshmallow.
    Liz- If you end up trying them, let me know how they turn out! I’m always curious to get feedback on my recipe instructions.
    Rachel- It’s never too early for marshmallow goodness. My brother-in-law ate one for breakfast! (I gagged a little when I saw him doing it.)
    Chris- I guarantee you’ll get extra awesome holiday gifts if you serve up these babies!
    Mussy- Folks at the office declared them “the best thing they’ve ever eaten” and I’ve been officially banned from the dessert contest at the company picnic this Friday…

  7. Georgia Says:

    your blog is so fantastic.
    you blog circles around us all!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

