The Pink Has Landed!

Opt-modern-pink-interior-de

I'm afraid of color. There. I said it. I happily spent two years in Brooklyn with Pratt and Lambert 'Windam Grey' walls. But something about moving to California and experiencing the quality of light here has me craving color. Craving pink, to be exact.

Elledecorationpink

Not bubblegum pink, not salmon or coral or orchid. A clean, clear pink with a quiet, confident presence. A pink that is more adult than adolescent. Modern and fresh, as in the above interior from Nibs or this color scheme from Elle Decoration UK. And so I turned this…

DSC_0106

…into this. The jury's still out on whether I like it or not. I used Benjamin Moore 'Flush Pink' and the effect during the day is more or less what I was hoping. However at dusk it takes on the pukey hue of a grungy nightclub bathroom.

DSC_0004

I have big plans for a black and white photo gallery to mitigate the froufrou effect. And I may need to find another spot for my charming Swedish grey table; as much as I love it, it's vintage vibe is contributing to the saccharine feel of the space. Perhaps a table in high gloss black or clear lucite would toughen things up…What do you think? Did I waste forty bucks on paint?

4 Responses to “The Pink Has Landed!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    It looks good! I think it takes a least a week to adjust to a new color, if it’s a big change. And adding the black and white photos would make this space so perfect.

  2. kate s Says:

    I’m feeling the pink thing as well. I think its the perfect combination of space enhancing but not boring like a lot of eggshells and creams are to me these days. They are fine and all, but I want something more inviting, and I think a nice pink does the trick.
    I also really like the pink of the hallway, I think though that the table has to go if you want to keep the pink. Or re-paint the table if that is an option, or even for now just change the accessories on the table so it blends better.
    Either way, good job Anne!
    I also am really starting to look foreword to you blog everyday, since you UO post, I can’t wait to find more inspiration from your site. Maybe you could do a post on how to decorate a small place inexpensively with DIY projects.

  3. Kimberlee Says:

    OK! First of all – thank you so friggin much for commenting on my blog, because it has meant i have found your beautiful stunning gorgeous blog!!! Is it ok if I put you on my blog roll?
    second of all – Love the pink, just love it. I agree, some toughening up would be cool with a high gloss furniture piece or something!
    Thanks again xxx

  4. Amanda Says:

    I love it Anne! It’s such a beautiful shade of pink. I completely agree, a cluster of black and white photos, and a glossy piece of furniture, a sparkley chandelier.

Leave a Reply

The Pink Has Landed!

Opt-modern-pink-interior-de

I'm afraid of color. There. I said it. I happily spent two years in Brooklyn with Pratt and Lambert 'Windam Grey' walls. But something about moving to California and experiencing the quality of light here has me craving color. Craving pink, to be exact.

Elledecorationpink

Not bubblegum pink, not salmon or coral or orchid. A clean, clear pink with a quiet, confident presence. A pink that is more adult than adolescent. Modern and fresh, as in the above interior from Nibs or this color scheme from Elle Decoration UK. And so I turned this…

DSC_0106

…into this. The jury's still out on whether I like it or not. I used Benjamin Moore 'Flush Pink' and the effect during the day is more or less what I was hoping. However at dusk it takes on the pukey hue of a grungy nightclub bathroom.

DSC_0004

I have big plans for a black and white photo gallery to mitigate the froufrou effect. And I may need to find another spot for my charming Swedish grey table; as much as I love it, it's vintage vibe is contributing to the saccharine feel of the space. Perhaps a table in high gloss black or clear lucite would toughen things up…What do you think? Did I waste forty bucks on paint?

4 Responses to “The Pink Has Landed!”

  1. sushi2 Says:

    I think your idea of black and white photos is a great idea. It is a nice pale pink which I hear makes anyone’s skin tone look wonderful in a room. I don’t want to through you off on ideas, but I remember seeing Tori Spelling’s baby girls room. It was a darker pink than yours, and I was entranced by it. You might want a peek here: http://justjared.buzznet.com/2008/08/22/tori-spelling-stella-bella/. Her room was just so feminine and girly chic. I don’t know if its your style, but it is an interesting idea.

  2. Mussy Says:

    FYI: My mother painted her living room this colour circa 2001. Take from that what you will. I liked the grey. Sorry if that’s too harsh.

  3. The City Sage Says:

    Rachel- You’re so right about the adjustment time. It’s now been almost a week and it’s really starting to grow on me. Good advice!
    Rochelle- Thanks for sharing the link to Tori’s little girl’s room. Great find! And so adorable too…
    Kate- Something tells me that your interest in home decor has less to do with my UO post and more to do with getting your first real place next month!
    Mussy- Clearly your mother’s taste is better than I thought 🙂 And I liked the grey too, don’t get me wrong, but I’m trying to expand my decor horizons…
    Kimberlee- Thanks so much for stopping by and for the major complements! I love your blog too…and yes, I for sure agree about the need for a glossy piece in the space. I’m thinking of finding a cheap lamp or chandelier at a thrift store and doing it up with a bit of glossy black paint…

  4. Amanda Says:

    I love it Anne! It’s such a beautiful shade of pink. I completely agree, a cluster of black and white photos, and a glossy piece of furniture, a sparkley chandelier.

Leave a Reply

