Recipe for Retro at Urban Outfitters

Urbanout


I've not stepped into an Urban Outfitters in years, so you can imagine my surprise to discover some seriously cool, affordable pieces there over the weekend! I've always avoided shopping at Urban because the hipster vibe of their clothing just looks costumey on me. But for the house, a few strategically chosen pieces can say 'retro' without saying 'bought the shop'. (Above image: Carlu Seaver.)

15373145_46_b

Channel Danish Modern with a chair in nubby robin's egg boucle or a sofa in soft, neutral ecru ($300 and $550, respectively). I love the authentic details on these, like the turned dowel construction of the legs, or the button tufts on the sofa. But choose one or the other, please. You don't want to look like you live on a movie set…

13216502_15_b

What a terrific little shelf! It's quite sleek and inconspicuous: a great storage option that looks sharp but recedes into the background when you want it to. Not to mention that it's made from bamboo and non-toxic wood stains. Stylish and sustainable for only $250? Unheard of!

15227606_16_b

I would put this $120 table in the bathroom to create a Scandinavian sauna feel. A nice multifunctional piece, you could use it as a stool too. And it's especially nice for those of us whose husbands are always leaving reading material lying around in the bathroom…ahem.

15095490_29_b

But I have to admit I'm suspicious, and I'd question the quality and durability of furniture from Urban Outfitters. At these prices it seems almost too good to be true! I'd most likely stick with the cheeky, irreverent accents that I trust Urban Outfitters for. Like this funky
log lamp, only $24!

14554083_00_b

Or this fun antler plaque, perfect for surprising guests when you offer to hang their coat!

15049471_10_b

The soft yet playful watercolor print on this pillow makes it just the thing for a child's room (or a grown-up child's room, too!)

15106495_11_b

And who amongst us didn't covet a phone like this when she was ten? It's never too late to have one!

15043276_66_b

What do you think? Would you buy furniture from Urban Outfitters? Or would you play it safe and stick to decorative accessories? Discuss!


6 Responses to “Recipe for Retro at Urban Outfitters”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Wow! I had no idea UO had a furniture line. $550 for a couch is unheard of. I’m with you – I’d have to feel the furniture in person to decide whether it is just so cheap it’s going to fall apart. But it’s all so good looking!

  2. Chelsea Says:

    I love urban outfitters, and I LOVE those antlers. So tacky, and yet I’m still drawn to them. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Georgia Says:

    oh, goodness! i love those chairs! i have see the real deal in old outdated doctors offices for years, and always wanted to steal them!
    great post. you have to love the U.O.!

  4. Liz@VioletPosy Says:

    I love the chairs and sofa, very Scandinavian. I’m hiding the phone picture from my daughter or we’ll have a pink phone in the lounge 🙂

  5. The City Sage Says:

    Rachel- I have had confirmation from my sister that the quality of the furniture is dubious. So we can just look at the photos and dream!
    Chelsea- I’m a little obsessed with antlers of late, and these metal ones are a much less grotesque alternative to the real thing!
    Georgia- Yes! These ARE doctor’s office chairs! When I was moving across the country I stayed at a hotel in Wyoming that had these chairs all over the place. I tell you, I was this close to snagging a couple but didn’t want to be in a high-speed police chase across the desert over a couple of chairs. Buying them from UO is probably easier and definitely more legal!
    Liz- Oh that’s right! I remember now about your daughter and her love of pink…I think she and I would get along very well 🙂

  6. Ellie Says:

    I was eyeing that couch for a whole year and was thisclose to buying it – but I’m so glad I found an UO who carried it before I ordered it online. It’s cute, but it is the most uncomfortable thing I’ve ever sat on. On the other hand, I have a great coffee table from them and I have no complaints – well worth the $120!

Leave a Reply

