Gingerbread to the Rescue

DSC_0017

Phew! It's been a heck of a week with work, money, the car, and a million other little stressors piling up until all I wanted to do was hide under the bed in a fetal position. Clearly that wasn't an option, so I made ginger cookies instead.

Thankfully, they were just what the therapist ordered! I adapted a Martha recipe with the goal of creating a dense, chewy ginger cookie packed full of warm spice and deep molasses flavour. These turned out beautifully; see how the crevices on top reveal the moist goodness within?

DSC_0055

These remind me a little of the ginger cookies you get at Starbucks, only they're the perfect size to enjoy with a mug of tea (those Starbucks cookies are the size of dinner plates!). In any case, these cookies really are the perfect comfort food for a fall afternoon.

Chewy Ginger Cookies
(Adapted from Martha Stewart; see the original recipe here)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1  teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup shortening (I used Crisco)
  • 1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 6 tablespoons molasses
  • 1 large egg

You know the drill. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl, combine wet in another. Mix it all up together. Let the dough refridgerate for at least a couple hours. You could even try rolling it into logs and freezing it, thus creating 'slice and bake' ginger cookies. For drop cookies, measure balls of about two tablespoons onto a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 12-14 minutes. Don't underbake—they'll be mushy. By the way, the whole house will smell heavenly while these are in the oven!

11 Responses to “Gingerbread to the Rescue”

  1. jora Says:

    I need one of these! Right now! Some comfort food in these uncertain times would surely help.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Oh my gosh. My jaw just dropped. These sound delicious, and the pictures are mouth watering. I want to go home right now and make them!

  3. sushi2 Says:

    Yummy! I know those cookies must have made you feel a little better. I hope all goes well for you.

  4. Mussy Says:

    Our telepathic connection strikes again! I literally was about to search for a ginger cookie recipe (for the campaign o’course) when I thought I’d see what was new on your blog. Lo and behold I’d killed two birds with one stone! Let’s see if mine turn out as well as your chewy chuncks of heaven look. Stay tuned for an update on my blog soon!

  5. Georgia Says:

    looks delish!
    i just posted a cookie recipe, too.
    i think that is what i will be doing this weekend. maybe i’ll try these ones too, while i’m at it.

  6. Mrs. Buck Says:

    this looks soooooooo delicious! I’m going to have to try them out asap!

  7. The City Sage Says:

    Jora— Wish I could send you a batch through the internet! And yes, I think a return to the homespun and wholesome is just what we need right now…
    Rachel—the pics don’t nearly do these babies justice. if you try the recipe, be sure to let me know how it turns out!
    Rochelle–thanks for the well wishes- you’re such a sweetheart! and don’t worry, there’s not crisis. just the day to day grrrr of life 🙂
    Georgia—your oat and honey cookie recipe looks AWESOME. I’ve definitely got it on my to-do list for the weekend!
    Mrs. Buck—they were pretty tasty! if you try them out, you won’t be disappointed!

  8. Chris Says:

    Wow, yet another good recipe to try out. I’ll be baking like a fiend this season!

  9. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    All I wanna do lately is bake…and eat!

  10. The City Sage Says:

    Hey Cashmere Librarian–Thanks for stopping by! And yes, I second you on all the baking and eating I’ve been wanting to do lately. I think it’s a combination of the weather getting cooler, the weird political and economic climate, and the fact that cookies just taste so darn good 🙂

  11. CashmereLibrarian Says:

    Last week, I made these cookies and shipped them off to me son at college (along with a batch of choc. chip.). He finally (!!) got around to thanking me, and this is what he said: “but seriously, those cookies = the bomb. the chocolate chip ones were a little dry by now, but the gingerbread ones (was it ginger) were still really moist and chewy and delicious. keep experimenting – i’ll tell you how they hold up. people in the dorm seemed to like them, too: i’d come back from class and there’d be less than before!”
    Thanks for the great recipe–it’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

