Skinny Legs and All

Ditte_isager

Before I got really into interiors I had a shoe fetish. Now I think I’ve transferred those obsessive tendencies onto chairs, because lately they have the power to inspire total object lust in me. This week I’m really intrigued by chairs with exaggeratedly skinny metal legs…

Dittei3

They have almost an animal personality…

Davidprinceskinnychair

As though they’re going to skuttle insect-like across the floor…

Skinnylegsunkown

Or perhaps I’m fascinated by how they seem to float on air…

Chriseverardskinnychair

Defying the laws of physics and gravity…

Ellensilvermanskinnychairs

Or maybe it’s just their stripped down, elemental spirit…

This_is_glamourous_skinny_chair

…their humble ‘what you see is what you get’ presence…

Richardbirchskinnylegs

Because it really seems that in spite of their slim, spry appendages, they’d be ready and waiting to lend a seat whenever and wherever one is needed…

Stay tuned for a ‘Get the Look: Skinny Legs’ shopping guide!

Image Credits: 1. Ditte Isager, 2. Ditte Isager, 3. David Prince, 4. source unknown but still searching, 5. Chris Everard, 6. Ellen Silverman, 7. Marie Claire Maison via This Is Glamourous 8. Richard Birch

3 Responses to “Skinny Legs and All”

  1. Georgia Says:

    these are great!
    i love chairs. i began collecting them somewhere along the line.
    you could describe these chairs the same as many men would describe what they find attractive in women—gorgeous form with skinny legs.
    🙂

  2. The City Sage Says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone—it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who stays up at night with crazy thoughts about the personality of chairs…my husband thinks I’m a little nuts, but I think we all just have great imaginations 🙂

  3. Mussy Says:

    Great job giving us the skinny on the intricacies of chair appendages. I also have a thing for skinny legs (on chairs…)..and chairs in general. On an international note, I thought you might appreciate these chairs at eclectic gallery called Inhotim in Brazil.
    http://jessagwells.blogspot.com
    In fact I thought of you and our Martha obsession when I saw the skinnyleg chair/ marble table arrangement, and HAD to take a photo. I knew we were kindred spirits!

Leave a Reply

