Back in the Kitchen with Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars: AKA Most Pathetic Post Ever

We’ve been eating out every night because the house is still a
shambles in the wake of the move: boxes piled high, furniture
helter-skelter, and leftover wedding paraphernalia scattered about
everywhere. Not only that, a perfume bottle smashed in one of the boxes and now
the whole apartment reeks of Hermes’ Un Jardin sur le Nil.

Peanut_butter_oat_bars

I therefore thought it high time to restore order to the universe with some baking. I had bookmarked this tasty-looking recipe
from BakingBlonde a while ago. With just a few simple stovetop steps it
seemed like the perfect way to dip my toes into the new kitchen. If success is measured by how photogenic the result is, then the above photo reveals my attempt to be pretty sad indeed.

First let me just say that I MISS MY GAS STOVE! In Brooklyn our stove was
an ancient gas range that had probably been forged at the dawn of time,
but it allowed me to control the heat really easily. Our stove here in
California is electric. I can’t tell that it’s too hot until it’s too
late. Case in point? I burned the butter in this recipe. Burned butter,
people! That’s one step away from burning water…

I didn’t have much luck with this recipe in general. I haven’t
tasted them yet (7 in the morning seems a little early for that) but
they don’t look nearly as tidy as BakingBlonde’s (whose blog I adore,
by the way). She lined her pan with foil; I couldn’t be bothered. Big
mistake. Half the oats remained in the pan when I moved the squares to
the plate. I also found that there weren’t enough oats on the whole;
the layers seemed a little skimpy. In future I think I would double the
quantity of oats. But for now I’m too busy feeling sorry for myself.
Maybe 7 am isn’t to early to gorge myself on chocolate after all…

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars
Recipe courtesy of BakingBlonde, which she adapted from allrecipes.com
1 cup butter (BB used 2/3 cup butter; I used the full cup)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups quick cooking oats (BB used between 2 3/4 and 3 1/4 cups, just enough to keep moist but not too wet or too dry; I went with an even 3 cups)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (BB used 1 1/4 cups, a mixture of Milk and Semi-Sweet chips; I used only semi-sweet)
1/2 cup peanut butter (BB used 3/4 cup; so did I)

Grease a 9×9 inch square pan. (BB lined an 8×8 pan with foil and
sprayed with PAM; I just used PAM but will use foil in future. See
above lament.)

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in brown sugar
and vanilla. Mix in the oats. Cook over low heat 2 to 3 minutes, or
until ingredients are well blended.

Press half of mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. (BB pressed
2/3 mixture in bottom of pan; I used almost all of it and as a result
had very little to layer on top.) Reserve the remainder for topping.

Meanwhile, melt chocolate chips and peanut butter in a small heavy
saucepan over low heat, stirring frequently until smooth. Pour the
chocolate mixture over the crust in the pan, and spread evenly with a
knife or the back of a spoon.

Crumble the remaining oat mixture over the chocolate layer, pressing in gently.
Cover, and refrigerate 2 to 3 hours or overnight. Bring to room temperature before cutting into bars.

One Response to “Back in the Kitchen with Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars: AKA Most Pathetic Post Ever”

  1. The City Sage Says:

    I wouldn’t taste them if I were you, Mussy. Not unless you have your epi-pen with you!

Leave a Reply

Back in the Kitchen with Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars: AKA Most Pathetic Post Ever

We’ve been eating out every night because the house is still a
shambles in the wake of the move: boxes piled high, furniture
helter-skelter, and leftover wedding paraphernalia scattered about
everywhere. Not only that, a perfume bottle smashed in one of the boxes and now
the whole apartment reeks of Hermes’ Un Jardin sur le Nil.

Peanut_butter_oat_bars

I therefore thought it high time to restore order to the universe with some baking. I had bookmarked this tasty-looking recipe
from BakingBlonde a while ago. With just a few simple stovetop steps it
seemed like the perfect way to dip my toes into the new kitchen. If success is measured by how photogenic the result is, then the above photo reveals my attempt to be pretty sad indeed.

First let me just say that I MISS MY GAS STOVE! In Brooklyn our stove was
an ancient gas range that had probably been forged at the dawn of time,
but it allowed me to control the heat really easily. Our stove here in
California is electric. I can’t tell that it’s too hot until it’s too
late. Case in point? I burned the butter in this recipe. Burned butter,
people! That’s one step away from burning water…

I didn’t have much luck with this recipe in general. I haven’t
tasted them yet (7 in the morning seems a little early for that) but
they don’t look nearly as tidy as BakingBlonde’s (whose blog I adore,
by the way). She lined her pan with foil; I couldn’t be bothered. Big
mistake. Half the oats remained in the pan when I moved the squares to
the plate. I also found that there weren’t enough oats on the whole;
the layers seemed a little skimpy. In future I think I would double the
quantity of oats. But for now I’m too busy feeling sorry for myself.
Maybe 7 am isn’t to early to gorge myself on chocolate after all…

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars
Recipe courtesy of BakingBlonde, which she adapted from allrecipes.com
1 cup butter (BB used 2/3 cup butter; I used the full cup)
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 cups quick cooking oats (BB used between 2 3/4 and 3 1/4 cups, just enough to keep moist but not too wet or too dry; I went with an even 3 cups)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (BB used 1 1/4 cups, a mixture of Milk and Semi-Sweet chips; I used only semi-sweet)
1/2 cup peanut butter (BB used 3/4 cup; so did I)

Grease a 9×9 inch square pan. (BB lined an 8×8 pan with foil and
sprayed with PAM; I just used PAM but will use foil in future. See
above lament.)

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in brown sugar
and vanilla. Mix in the oats. Cook over low heat 2 to 3 minutes, or
until ingredients are well blended.

Press half of mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. (BB pressed
2/3 mixture in bottom of pan; I used almost all of it and as a result
had very little to layer on top.) Reserve the remainder for topping.

Meanwhile, melt chocolate chips and peanut butter in a small heavy
saucepan over low heat, stirring frequently until smooth. Pour the
chocolate mixture over the crust in the pan, and spread evenly with a
knife or the back of a spoon.

Crumble the remaining oat mixture over the chocolate layer, pressing in gently.
Cover, and refrigerate 2 to 3 hours or overnight. Bring to room temperature before cutting into bars.

2 Responses to “Back in the Kitchen with Chocolate Peanut Butter Oat Bars: AKA Most Pathetic Post Ever”

  1. Mussy Wells Says:

    Yikes….this sad tale confirms my suspicion that I did indeed leave too early. Wish i was there to taste these for you.
    Love Mussy

  2. Hermes Un Jardin Sur Le Nil Says:

    Im sure the room smelling of Sur Le Nil wasn’t bad 🙂 These bars look delish, you got me in the mood for baking

Leave a Reply

