Color Me In

We’re picking up the keys to the new apartment today and I’m so excited to get in there, take some measurements, draw up floor plans and just generally start to make it into a home. Something about the sunny weather and the intense light here in California has got me yearning to inject lots more color than we had in our cool, grey Brooklyn abode (more on my love of grey here). The new issue of Domino is filled with so many terrific inspiration images to this effect that I had to scan them in and share…

I love the idea of painting just one wall in the living room a deep purple. It would be such a dramatic statement and would provide a terrific backdrop to our neutral furniture—just as the lavender does here for those fabulous Gustavian cabinets.
Purple_room

This peacock blue is perfect for the bathroom. I’d maybe do only the top half of the walls, and leave the bottom half a bright, glossy white. And don’t you love how the yellow cushion pops against all those blues?
Peacock_room

Speaking of yellow, the color on these cabinets is divine. If I recall, the apartment currently has grungy white wood cupboards in the kitchen, and a vivid mustard hue might be just what the doctor ordered for perking things up.
Yellow_cabinets

I adore the look of painted wood furniture, as on the cabinet in this photo. We have a chest of drawers that is currently just unfinished pine, and I’d really like to try a faux weathered finish on it. But I’m afraid it won’t turn out as nicely as what I’m envisioning in my head, as I’ve never done a project like that before. Has anyone had success with faux finishes on wood furniture?
Blue_cabinet

And then, after throwing all this amazing color our way, Domino has to go and flip the switch by showcasing the incredible re-do that Tori Mellot did on her Manhattan apartment. How can I possibly paint my house purple, peacock and mustard when there are so many delicious shades of taupe and beige to be had? Love that striped wallpaper, too. There must be a happy medium between colorful and neutral—and I’m so excited to get into our new place and start searching for that balance!
E7a9bae10c814bd79556347357999d53

All images courtesy of Domino Magazine.

Leave a Reply

