Chips Ahoy and My First Giveaway!

I recently received a most unusual but wonderful gift. Neighbours were moving and giving away all the pantry supplies they couldn’t take with them, and I was consequently the recipient of a massive supply of baking chips! I’ve been slowly using them up but with my own move cross-country approaching, I think I need to step up my chippage.

So I pulled out one of my favourite cookbooks, Nancy Baggett’s The All-American Cookie Book. It features page after page of delicious cookie recipes and mouthwatering full-colour photos, each accompanied by a short narrative of the recipe’s origins and regional history. For example, there are black-and-whites from New York City, Pecan Meltaways from Georgia, and that treat with most elusive beginnings, the Snickerdoodle. I chose a cookie loaded with add-in’s for maximum chip usage…scroll down for the info.

Chips_and_book
(book image courtesy of Amazon.com)

But first, in honor of my serendipitous chips, A GIVEAWAY!  Leave a comment between now and Monday August 4 at midnight, and I’ll send you your very own copy of The All-American Cookie Book. In your comment just tell me your favourite regional dessert—cookie or otherwise, American or otherwise—with a link to the recipe if you want to get really fancy. I’ll randomly select a name from the entrants and announce the winner on Tuesday August 5. Is this a cheap ploy to get readers to comment on my post? Absolutely! But I love hearing from you, and if it scores you an awesome cookbook in the process, then why not?


Death_by_chocolate_cookies

Okay, enough boldface type. The above cookies are called "Death By Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies". They’re quite a mouthful, both literally and figuratively. Dense and heavy, you can smell them from across the room–and they melt most sinfully on the tongue. They contain a tablespoon of corn syrup, which I think adds to their chewy fudginess. I like this recipe because you can throw whatever you like in. I used semi-sweet, bittersweet, white chocolate, and butterscotch chips, but coconut, dried cherries, and even candied ginger would be tasty too. Just be careful not to overcook them; remove them from the oven when you get your first whiff of chocolatey goodness. They’ll look underdone, so just let them firm up on the baking sheets before removing them.

Death by Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies (recipe courtesy of The All-American Cookie Cookbook)

1 cup butter (I used margarine)
scant 1 1/4 cups white sugar
1 cup good quality cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 tablespoon light or dark corn syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla (I used a full tablespoon)
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups add-ins, any type of chips or nuts, etc. that you like

Cream butter and sugar until fluffy, then mix in cocoa powder. Add baking soda and salt, stir to mix, then beat in eggs, corn syrup and vanilla. Stir in flour until smooth, then toss in chips and combine. Bake for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees–though of course this baking time will depend on the size of cookie you make. I’ve done both bite-sized and monster-sized with this recipe. Just adjust baking time longer the bigger the balls of dough. Just watch them carefully and remove when you get that first whiff!

9 Responses to “Chips Ahoy and My First Giveaway!”

  1. Mark S. Says:

    My absolute fav. regional desert is the Indian dish Gulab Jamun. I’m not sure if this is a westernized version of something that actually exists in india, but really, how can you go wrong with dough soaked in syrup!
    http://www.indianfoodforever.com/desserts/gulab-jamun.html

  2. Mark S. Says:

    My absolute fav. regional desert is the Indian dish Gulab Jamun. I’m not sure if this is a westernized version of something that actually exists in india, but really, how can you go wrong with dough soaked in syrup!
    http://www.indianfoodforever.com/desserts/gulab-jamun.html

  3. Robert Says:

    So, i was lucky enough to score a “death by chocolate” cookie today. let me tell you, the picture does not lie.
    it put me into awesome-ness coma.
    i was reminded of the famed berger cookie of maryland. I found a few online trying to mimic the delight, but beware, it is not easy and it seems most bakers fail.
    check it out and let me see the sage version
    http://www.bakingdelights.com/2008/04/10/berger-cookies-my-version/

  4. Robert Says:

    So, i was lucky enough to score a “death by chocolate” cookie today. let me tell you, the picture does not lie.
    it put me into awesome-ness coma.
    i was reminded of the famed berger cookie of maryland. I found a few online trying to mimic the delight, but beware, it is not easy and it seems most bakers fail.
    check it out and let me see the sage version
    http://www.bakingdelights.com/2008/04/10/berger-cookies-my-version/

  5. Lova Max Says:

    Amazing how the thought of procuring another cookbook (especially on COOKIES!) jump starts the brain into action. But then, another problem – so many regions, so many favourites. I’d have to go though with the famous Australian Pavlova – looks sinful – probably is, but you can always convince yourself that because it is a meringue that it’s ok because it’s only egg whites with sugar (only minimal says my brain), tons of fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, kiwi fruit drizzled with passion fruit , covering (well actually disguising) as much whipped cream as you can get away with. Too bad it’s not a breakfast food.

  6. Lova Max Says:

    Amazing how the thought of procuring another cookbook (especially on COOKIES!) jump starts the brain into action. But then, another problem – so many regions, so many favourites. I’d have to go though with the famous Australian Pavlova – looks sinful – probably is, but you can always convince yourself that because it is a meringue that it’s ok because it’s only egg whites with sugar (only minimal says my brain), tons of fresh strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, kiwi fruit drizzled with passion fruit , covering (well actually disguising) as much whipped cream as you can get away with. Too bad it’s not a breakfast food.

  7. kate s Says:

    my favourite and maybe also the least favourite part of this post and blog in general is the quality of the photos. they really add the final professional touch. however, in this case, the quality of this photo is frustrating because you’ve managed to capture the cookie so well that i want to pick it from the screen and eat it. being unable to do so merely reminds me of how i have no way of enjoying your good cooking any time soon.
    woe is me.

  8. Mercer Says:

    One of our favourite eat-outs is the Dim Sum, the name given to a Chinese cuisine, which comprises a wide range of light dishes served along with Chinese tea. Most often it is served in the mornings, however many Chinese restaurants serve Dim Sum all day. Depending on the restaurant, dishes may be ordered from carts that move through the restaurant or from a menu. The food is served in small portions and includes meat, seafood, and vegetables, as well as desserts.
    Now the food is excellent, but to finish off with a taste change, it is dessert that I crave, the multi-layered (about 5 layers per inch), multi-colored jello squares. I do not know how it is made, but I imagine it takes a patience and time to allow each layer to set. Occasionally, evaporated milk combine with jello comprises one or two layers. And why do I like it: it reminds me of childhood, it can be jiggled and used to demonstrate the effects of ground vibration from earthquakes, (it shows shear waves particularly well) and it tastes yummy, especially when it is soaked in evaporated milk (Carnation brand is the most common)
    One last word of warning, this dessert is frequently in short supply, so as soon as you see some on a trolley, grab it and save it for last. Otherwise you may never see it again.

  9. Emily H Says:

    Hi Anne,
    Nice blog! One of my favouritest desserts ever I learned in my grade 6 summer school program – s’mores squares: a layer of cookie dough, layer of milk chocolate squares, layer of marshmallow creme, topped with another layer of cookie dough. So rich, but so delicious!!

Leave a Reply

