Deep Flea Diving

I’m a marathon shopper. I can go all day. When I’m on the hunt,
nothing can get in my way. But there’s one department in which my
shopping prowess is seriously lacking: I suck at vintage. I have no
patience for digging through piles and piles of overpriced junk to find
that one hidden gem.

And that’s a shame, because shopping vintage not only can yield some
amazing finds, it’s friendlier to the environment than buying new
products. So finally yesterday I worked up some courage and headed to
the Brooklyn Flea.
I went armed only with a camera and $45 in cash. Most of what I saw was
ugly, ordinary, highway robbery, or a combination of all three. But
there was some nifty stuff nonetheless…

Can’t you see having a backyard picnic and filling these glasses to
the brim with ice-cold lemonade? I love that they come with their own
nifty carrying basket.

Dsc_0040_2

I imagine it’s quite rare to find a complete canister set in as
great a condition as this one. These would look terrific in a rustic
kitchen; the metal would provide a touch of industrial edge without
seeming too contemporary. They have such an air of Depression Era
spartanism.

Dsc_0048

There was the standard offering of mid-century modern furniture,
which usually doesn’t interest me too much. However, I found myself
quite drawn to the elegant lines on the drawers of this bureau.

Dsc_0119

I’m a sucker for anything that swivels, so these chairs really hit
the mark. They were only $40 for the pair! But the vinyl was peeling
off, and we don’t have a spot in the apartment for them anyway.
Boo-urns.

Dsc_0077_2

The prize for the strangest item of the day goes to this purse, which
was constructed solely from the dried out body of an armadillo.

Dsc_0032

Doesn’t this silhouette look like a Home Ec. teacher from the
mid-1960’s? I’ll bet this woman could make magic with a few yards of
corduroy and a Singer sewing machine.

Dsc_0074

One vendor had a great selection of vintage hats and hair pieces.
This feather headband would look beautiful on a bride with a modern,
slightly whimsical sensibility. Such a fresh alternative to a veil, yet
still so romantic!

Dsc_0087

In the end I spent my $45 on these 5 vintage silver vessels. With a little polish they’ll
be perfect for the flower arrangements I’m planning for the wedding
reception. Attractive and useful with a minimum of digging: not bad for a day’s haul!

Dsc_0157

Leave a Reply

