Chaise Magnifique

I’m in love with a chair. There. I said it. Is it so wrong?

Last weekend I went shopping with my mother-in-law at Eskandar.
They have exquisite clothing–not my style but I love it on others–and
they also stock the store with one-of-a-kind pieces that the designer
finds on his travels. I especially love how they incorporate antiques
into the clothing displays; it’s cool to go into a shop and know
that everything, from the scarves and the sweaters to the tables
they’re merchandised on, is for sale.

Picture_1

The chairs currently in the dressing rooms have
captured my heart. Commissioned by Le Corbusier for a ski resort he was
designing in the Swiss Alps, they are the work of Charlotte
Perriand–the furniture designer behind some of the most iconic pieces of the 20th Century. The thought of owning a piece of design history–Le Corbu! Perriand!–overwhelms me.

Chair

But name dropping aside, I love how this chair combines machine age
industrialism (the metal frame, the steel rivets) with a rugged natural
appeal (the worn leather seat, stretched and shaped by decades’ worth
of French skiiers and their toned, tight buttocks). I’m dreaming about what
I’d do if I had a full set…probably position them around one of
those gorgeous reclaimed barn wood tables

8seatfarm_2
…but at $1200 for one chair I think I’ll be dreaming for a long time!

And speaking of dreams, check out:

– The ultimate luxury statement: vintage Vuitton luggage as furniture at Girl Meets Glamour.

Fantasy kitchens courtesy of Absolutely Beautiful Things.

– Droolworthy musings on enchiladas (my all-time fave!) at What’s On My Plate.

– My search for the perfect chocolate chip cookie continues with a promising-looking recipe from Cookie Madness (view the photo at your own risk; it may induce severe cravings!).

– Lush, hazy photos at Brown Turtleneck Sweater
that will put you in the mood for long summer afternoons–the kind that
are perfect for closing your eyes and dreaming of forbidden chair love…

One Response to “Chaise Magnifique”

  1. Mussy Wells Says:

    Sorry Anne. 99% of the time I totally love what you post but I gotta say I’m not so into those chairs…

Leave a Reply

Chaise Magnifique

I’m in love with a chair. There. I said it. Is it so wrong?

Last weekend I went shopping with my mother-in-law at Eskandar.
They have exquisite clothing–not my style but I love it on others–and
they also stock the store with one-of-a-kind pieces that the designer
finds on his travels. I especially love how they incorporate antiques
into the clothing displays; it’s cool to go into a shop and know
that everything, from the scarves and the sweaters to the tables
they’re merchandised on, is for sale.

Picture_1

The chairs currently in the dressing rooms have
captured my heart. Commissioned by Le Corbusier for a ski resort he was
designing in the Swiss Alps, they are the work of Charlotte
Perriand–the furniture designer behind some of the most iconic pieces of the 20th Century. The thought of owning a piece of design history–Le Corbu! Perriand!–overwhelms me.

Chair

But name dropping aside, I love how this chair combines machine age
industrialism (the metal frame, the steel rivets) with a rugged natural
appeal (the worn leather seat, stretched and shaped by decades’ worth
of French skiiers and their toned, tight buttocks). I’m dreaming about what
I’d do if I had a full set…probably position them around one of
those gorgeous reclaimed barn wood tables

8seatfarm_2
…but at $1200 for one chair I think I’ll be dreaming for a long time!

And speaking of dreams, check out:

– The ultimate luxury statement: vintage Vuitton luggage as furniture at Girl Meets Glamour.

Fantasy kitchens courtesy of Absolutely Beautiful Things.

– Droolworthy musings on enchiladas (my all-time fave!) at What’s On My Plate.

– My search for the perfect chocolate chip cookie continues with a promising-looking recipe from Cookie Madness (view the photo at your own risk; it may induce severe cravings!).

– Lush, hazy photos at Brown Turtleneck Sweater
that will put you in the mood for long summer afternoons–the kind that
are perfect for closing your eyes and dreaming of forbidden chair love…

One Response to “Chaise Magnifique”

  1. Mussy Wells Says:

    Sorry Anne. 99% of the time I totally love what you post but I gotta say I’m not so into those chairs…

Leave a Reply

