A Birthday Arrangement

When I was a kid my mom made a really big deal about birthdays. Pancake breakfasts, piles of handsomely wrapped gifts, and of course decorations throughout the house. As my sister and I grew older and more able to appreciate the finer things in life, this meant flowers everywhere. My mother has a gift for making things beautiful–I flatter myself to think that I’ve inherited at least some of that gift–and her flower arrangements are no exception.

Another thing I’ve definitely inherited is my love of making birthdays special. And–joy!–my husband turns twenty-six tomorrow. So I stopped at the flower shop on the way home to splurge on their biggest, brightest blossoms. My modus operandi is to get whatever looks best, the way a chef finds inspiration for his menu from the market’s freshest offerings. If you go into it with a preconceived idea of what you’d like to do, you’ll often find yourself disappointed.

In the end, I came home with a sunset color palette of fuchsia and gradient orange-to-yellow roses (24 for $10!) and a bunch of yellow and fuchsia gerbera daisies. I love gerbera daisies–to me they are the Platonic ideal of ‘flowerness’–but usually they are so expensive. These were only $5 for three stems, so I stocked up and got a dozen.

Sl701380_2

I also picked up some tiny mums for filler, as well as these weird spiny things in mesh protective covering. I’ve often seen these guys before but have never been brave enough to take a chance on what lurks beneath the mesh.
I was brave enough tonight.

Sl701365

I started by deciding to make the roses and gerberas my ‘main attraction’ flowers. I stripped them off all their leaves…

Sl701383

…and went to town poking them into my one-and-only vase (picked up on sale at Anthropologie a while back and less than ideal, but it does its job). After some false starts, I had a display that looked…well…awkward. Like a preschool project of tissue paper blossoms on pipe cleaner stems. And I was all out of roses and gerberas.

Sl701385_2

Spiny things to the rescue! I removed the mesh to reveal lovely, full, fingery yellow creatures that have the personality of sea anemones waving in the current. They perfectly filled the empty space beneath the other blooms and added some really interesting texture, too.

Sl701388

After a few small tweaks and some tiny mums to cover any gaps, I had an arrangement fit for the king of my castle. Brilliant and happy, just like his birthday should be.

Sl701392

Happy Birthday, Subber! I’m so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

A Birthday Arrangement

When I was a kid my mom made a really big deal about birthdays. Pancake breakfasts, piles of handsomely wrapped gifts, and of course decorations throughout the house. As my sister and I grew older and more able to appreciate the finer things in life, this meant flowers everywhere. My mother has a gift for making things beautiful–I flatter myself to think that I’ve inherited at least some of that gift–and her flower arrangements are no exception.

Another thing I’ve definitely inherited is my love of making birthdays special. And–joy!–my husband turns twenty-six tomorrow. So I stopped at the flower shop on the way home to splurge on their biggest, brightest blossoms. My modus operandi is to get whatever looks best, the way a chef finds inspiration for his menu from the market’s freshest offerings. If you go into it with a preconceived idea of what you’d like to do, you’ll often find yourself disappointed.

In the end, I came home with a sunset color palette of fuchsia and gradient orange-to-yellow roses (24 for $10!) and a bunch of yellow and fuchsia gerbera daisies. I love gerbera daisies–to me they are the Platonic ideal of ‘flowerness’–but usually they are so expensive. These were only $5 for three stems, so I stocked up and got a dozen.

Sl701380_2

I also picked up some tiny mums for filler, as well as these weird spiny things in mesh protective covering. I’ve often seen these guys before but have never been brave enough to take a chance on what lurks beneath the mesh.
I was brave enough tonight.

Sl701365

I started by deciding to make the roses and gerberas my ‘main attraction’ flowers. I stripped them off all their leaves…

Sl701383

…and went to town poking them into my one-and-only vase (picked up on sale at Anthropologie a while back and less than ideal, but it does its job). After some false starts, I had a display that looked…well…awkward. Like a preschool project of tissue paper blossoms on pipe cleaner stems. And I was all out of roses and gerberas.

Sl701385_2

Spiny things to the rescue! I removed the mesh to reveal lovely, full, fingery yellow creatures that have the personality of sea anemones waving in the current. They perfectly filled the empty space beneath the other blooms and added some really interesting texture, too.

Sl701388

After a few small tweaks and some tiny mums to cover any gaps, I had an arrangement fit for the king of my castle. Brilliant and happy, just like his birthday should be.

Sl701392

Happy Birthday, Subber! I’m so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

