Artless?

My quest
for a serene and centered living room continues. I ditched the ugly
black bookcase in favour of two identical Swedish grey tables on either
side of the doorway. Now that I’ve set up the bones of the room, I am
faced with the question of how to accessorize the space. I continue to
impress myself in the department of floral arrangements…here with a
mix of peonies, lilac and cornflower from the Prospect Park
Greenmarket…
Sl701355

…but the overall effect is still quite lopsided (especially since I can’t get my camera straight!).

Sl701361_2

So how to balance it out? I have a set of fashion prints on the way
to mirror the two I already have. But I need something to put on
the tables–something that will make the space look lived-in but not
knick-knacky. And I think that crisp, clean ceramics and glassware fit
the bill. Any of the maritime-inspired ceramics culled by Hostess with the Mostess would gel perfectly with that ‘bleached driftwood’ ambiance that I’m trying to cultivate.

Beach_decor_may08_1

I love the organic tenderness of this matched bottle set by Etsy seller Anna’s Pots.

Il_430xn28207963

I’d inject a touch of subtle color–yet still keep the lines spare
and simple–with these pieces by British artisan Michael Ruh at Ochre.

Picture_2

Pears take on monumental significance in the hands of Element Clay Studio.

Il_430xn27617672

And French potter Heidi Caillard gives the humble Guinea Hen a new sophistication.

Cr010

The hardest thing to remember when filling in a home, however, is
that it doesn’t all happen at once. Objects fall into place over the
course of time. You find them on your travels, receive them as gifts;
that’s how they acquire meaning. So as much as I want it to be perfect
RIGHT NOW, I must resist that perfectionist urge. For as this piece
from Paloma’s Nest so gently reminds us, decorating requires that most elusive of qualities:

Il_430xn25397598_2

Leave a Reply

Artless?

My quest
for a serene and centered living room continues. I ditched the ugly
black bookcase in favour of two identical Swedish grey tables on either
side of the doorway. Now that I’ve set up the bones of the room, I am
faced with the question of how to accessorize the space. I continue to
impress myself in the department of floral arrangements…here with a
mix of peonies, lilac and cornflower from the Prospect Park
Greenmarket…
Sl701355

…but the overall effect is still quite lopsided (especially since I can’t get my camera straight!).

Sl701361_2

So how to balance it out? I have a set of fashion prints on the way
to mirror the two I already have. But I need something to put on
the tables–something that will make the space look lived-in but not
knick-knacky. And I think that crisp, clean ceramics and glassware fit
the bill. Any of the maritime-inspired ceramics culled by Hostess with the Mostess would gel perfectly with that ‘bleached driftwood’ ambiance that I’m trying to cultivate.

Beach_decor_may08_1

I love the organic tenderness of this matched bottle set by Etsy seller Anna’s Pots.

Il_430xn28207963

I’d inject a touch of subtle color–yet still keep the lines spare
and simple–with these pieces by British artisan Michael Ruh at Ochre.

Picture_2

Pears take on monumental significance in the hands of Element Clay Studio.

Il_430xn27617672

And French potter Heidi Caillard gives the humble Guinea Hen a new sophistication.

Cr010

The hardest thing to remember when filling in a home, however, is
that it doesn’t all happen at once. Objects fall into place over the
course of time. You find them on your travels, receive them as gifts;
that’s how they acquire meaning. So as much as I want it to be perfect
RIGHT NOW, I must resist that perfectionist urge. For as this piece
from Paloma’s Nest so gently reminds us, decorating requires that most elusive of qualities:

Il_430xn25397598_2

Leave a Reply

