Tropical Heat Wave

New York was in furnace mode this weekend. The heat left me
droopy and wilted, so I spent today hiding in the house with the blinds
closed and the fans running full blast. I also employed every
imaginable method for cooling down when the temperatures soar: a big
bowl of ice cream for lunch, countless glasses of lemon water
throughout the day, a chilly shower after my living room yoga practice
turned into a Bikram-esque sweatfest.

As we speak I have a watermelon chilling patiently in the fridge,
but before I pull it out I thought I’d do a little daydreaming about
the sunglasses I would wear if I could stand to go outside.
I have a sunglass fetish which has grown worse since I began wearing
contact lenses and can now wear any pair I choose without paying for
prescription lenses.

Square lenses are my shape of the moment–the bigger, the better.
They provide a fresh alternative to the aviators and the huge, rounded
frames that have dominated the past few summers. For my birthday the
hubby treated me to the below pair by Bottega Veneta. The smokey taupe plastic has such understated luxury, and the rivets at the temple give them an industrial edge.

Bottega

You can’t go wrong with this Marc by Marc Jacobs
frame. I love a designer logo just as much as the next girl, but these
provide a terrific alternative for those days when you don’t feel like
getting blinged out–the branding is subtle and speaks only to those in
the know. These are versatile but not boring, glamorous but not flashy,
and at $100 are a total steal.  I tried them on at Macy’s and it seems
as though they would suit a variety of face shapes as well.

Marc

These Louis Vuitton
glasses are the polar opposite of subtle. They’re real scene stealers,
big and stunning in an over-the-top 1970’s disco kind of way. I love
how the hinges attach at the bottom of the frame in true Charlie’s
Angels style. The caramel colored acetate is even studded with flecks
of gold glitter. I would wear these with dark, high-waisted jeans and a
white tee shirt–keep it simple and let the glasses carry the show.

Louis_3

Last but not least, this tortoise pair from Burberry satisfies my
desire for massive "celeb undercover" lenses. But because the frames
and arms are lithe and willowy, the proportions balance out–so it
doesn’t look like the glasses are devouring your face. What’s more,
these guys are available in black, powder (a translucent white) and
red.  It’s like toys in a cereal box: collect all four! The red in
particular would take courage, but a fabulous payoff is guaranteed all
who dare.      

Burberry_be4001_3oo2_13_big1

Now if only the weather would cool down long enough for me to go outside and rock my new shades…

Leave a Reply

Tropical Heat Wave

New York was in furnace mode this weekend. The heat left me
droopy and wilted, so I spent today hiding in the house with the blinds
closed and the fans running full blast. I also employed every
imaginable method for cooling down when the temperatures soar: a big
bowl of ice cream for lunch, countless glasses of lemon water
throughout the day, a chilly shower after my living room yoga practice
turned into a Bikram-esque sweatfest.

As we speak I have a watermelon chilling patiently in the fridge,
but before I pull it out I thought I’d do a little daydreaming about
the sunglasses I would wear if I could stand to go outside.
I have a sunglass fetish which has grown worse since I began wearing
contact lenses and can now wear any pair I choose without paying for
prescription lenses.

Square lenses are my shape of the moment–the bigger, the better.
They provide a fresh alternative to the aviators and the huge, rounded
frames that have dominated the past few summers. For my birthday the
hubby treated me to the below pair by Bottega Veneta. The smokey taupe plastic has such understated luxury, and the rivets at the temple give them an industrial edge.

Bottega

You can’t go wrong with this Marc by Marc Jacobs
frame. I love a designer logo just as much as the next girl, but these
provide a terrific alternative for those days when you don’t feel like
getting blinged out–the branding is subtle and speaks only to those in
the know. These are versatile but not boring, glamorous but not flashy,
and at $100 are a total steal.  I tried them on at Macy’s and it seems
as though they would suit a variety of face shapes as well.

Marc

These Louis Vuitton
glasses are the polar opposite of subtle. They’re real scene stealers,
big and stunning in an over-the-top 1970’s disco kind of way. I love
how the hinges attach at the bottom of the frame in true Charlie’s
Angels style. The caramel colored acetate is even studded with flecks
of gold glitter. I would wear these with dark, high-waisted jeans and a
white tee shirt–keep it simple and let the glasses carry the show.

Louis_3

Last but not least, this tortoise pair from Burberry satisfies my
desire for massive "celeb undercover" lenses. But because the frames
and arms are lithe and willowy, the proportions balance out–so it
doesn’t look like the glasses are devouring your face. What’s more,
these guys are available in black, powder (a translucent white) and
red.  It’s like toys in a cereal box: collect all four! The red in
particular would take courage, but a fabulous payoff is guaranteed all
who dare.      

Burberry_be4001_3oo2_13_big1

Now if only the weather would cool down long enough for me to go outside and rock my new shades…

Leave a Reply

