Method to my Madness

My apologies for yesterday’s absence. I had to do my ‘real’ job–the one that’s fun but not as fun as blogging!–and attend consumer
focus groups until 10 pm last night. Yes, I’m one of those shady
figures taking notes on the other side of a one-way mirror…

But sometimes my real job is pretty cool, like on Tuesday evening when I went to a VIP cocktail party at the method pop-up shop
in SoHo. I mostly stood around feeling very un-VIP while others hobnobbed. But part of me felt like a kid in a candy store, staring in awe at rows after rows of colorful
dish liquids, hand washes and surface sprays. The space was brilliantly
tricked out, with an old-fashioned souvenir photo booth and real grass growing
from planters everywhere. I particularly liked the giant jars of
rainbow gumballs–you can see them along the tops of the display
shelves in the photo below. They fit in so nicely with method’s ‘make
cleaning fun’ message, and a similar display would be a great
addition to the decor of a baby shower or a child’s birthday party.

Method_popup

I was also thrilled to received my first ever swag bag. Not only were the goodies inside pretty exciting (a dish soap, a hand wash, surface wipes and a toilet bowl cleaner
that looks bizarre yet beautiful), the bag itself is one of those nifty
lightweight, reusable totes that you can always keep on hand so you
don’t fall into the plastic bag trap at the grocery store. You can buy
your own at the method website.

Swagbag

And speaking of ‘making cleaning fun’, it’s never really fun,
is it? But there are some terrific products out there to make it less
painful. Think: no more bleach headaches and ammonia burns. In the
method camp I like their Wood for Good
spray. It smells like an almond croissant and makes the fiberboard of
my battered IKEA coffee table gleam like the day I bought it. I also
use it on the parquet floors. I feel good knowing that I can walk
across them in my bare feet, without worrying about developing any
strange growths. 
6fea986f0d2449e29707478a16535db8_4

I’m also a fan of Daily Shower.
The idea behind this one is you spray it on your tub, tile and fixtures
after every shower to prevent soap goo and mildew build-up. I haven’t
been using it long enough to testify to its efficacy. However I can say
that the fragrance alone makes me stick with it. method calls the scent
‘ylang ylang’, though I find it best compares to my ultimate nostalgia
smell: Flex shampoo. Another bonus? The spray nozzle has the force of a
jet engine. So not only do you get super cleaning power, you also get
the psychological satisfaction of spritzing your scummy foes into
oblivion. And for me, that’s the most important part.

5a1860e4f7a24f23842589ff7744f186_4

Because when it comes down to it, isn’t cleaning as much about
restoring the shine to your spirit as it is about restoring the shine
to your sink?

Leave a Reply

Method to my Madness

My apologies for yesterday’s absence. I had to do my ‘real’ job–the one that’s fun but not as fun as blogging!–and attend consumer
focus groups until 10 pm last night. Yes, I’m one of those shady
figures taking notes on the other side of a one-way mirror…

But sometimes my real job is pretty cool, like on Tuesday evening when I went to a VIP cocktail party at the method pop-up shop
in SoHo. I mostly stood around feeling very un-VIP while others hobnobbed. But part of me felt like a kid in a candy store, staring in awe at rows after rows of colorful
dish liquids, hand washes and surface sprays. The space was brilliantly
tricked out, with an old-fashioned souvenir photo booth and real grass growing
from planters everywhere. I particularly liked the giant jars of
rainbow gumballs–you can see them along the tops of the display
shelves in the photo below. They fit in so nicely with method’s ‘make
cleaning fun’ message, and a similar display would be a great
addition to the decor of a baby shower or a child’s birthday party.

Method_popup

I was also thrilled to received my first ever swag bag. Not only were the goodies inside pretty exciting (a dish soap, a hand wash, surface wipes and a toilet bowl cleaner
that looks bizarre yet beautiful), the bag itself is one of those nifty
lightweight, reusable totes that you can always keep on hand so you
don’t fall into the plastic bag trap at the grocery store. You can buy
your own at the method website.

Swagbag

And speaking of ‘making cleaning fun’, it’s never really fun,
is it? But there are some terrific products out there to make it less
painful. Think: no more bleach headaches and ammonia burns. In the
method camp I like their Wood for Good
spray. It smells like an almond croissant and makes the fiberboard of
my battered IKEA coffee table gleam like the day I bought it. I also
use it on the parquet floors. I feel good knowing that I can walk
across them in my bare feet, without worrying about developing any
strange growths. 
6fea986f0d2449e29707478a16535db8_4

I’m also a fan of Daily Shower.
The idea behind this one is you spray it on your tub, tile and fixtures
after every shower to prevent soap goo and mildew build-up. I haven’t
been using it long enough to testify to its efficacy. However I can say
that the fragrance alone makes me stick with it. method calls the scent
‘ylang ylang’, though I find it best compares to my ultimate nostalgia
smell: Flex shampoo. Another bonus? The spray nozzle has the force of a
jet engine. So not only do you get super cleaning power, you also get
the psychological satisfaction of spritzing your scummy foes into
oblivion. And for me, that’s the most important part.

5a1860e4f7a24f23842589ff7744f186_4

Because when it comes down to it, isn’t cleaning as much about
restoring the shine to your spirit as it is about restoring the shine
to your sink?

Leave a Reply

