Signs of Summer

So many things say ‘summer has arrived’. The charcoal and lighter
fluid tang of neighbours barbecuing down the block; the shouts of kids
newly freed from stuffy classrooms and settling in for three months of sidewalk loitering; the permanent black streaks on your feet
that result from wearing flip flops in Manhattan. I recently reveled in
two of the more pleasant signs of summer…

Peonies are my June flower. I always have them in the house for my
husband’s birthday on the 12th. They are such a grand sensory
experience! And they have such personality too. They’ll stay closed in
tight, round buds for days, tricking you into thinking you’ve
bought faulty blooms. Then one morning you wake up and they’ve exploded
in a riot of petals and heady perfume. So here’s what I happened upon
today. Isn’t the splash of red peeping out such a nice surprise? I wish
you could smell them.

Peonies_2

And what would summer be without mountains of fresh fruit on which
to gorge yourself? I wish I could say this glistening bowl of
blueberries, blackberries and cherries ripened under the New York sun,
but in reality they came from South America via my local Costco. No
matter: their sweet juices stained my fingers, burst on my tongue and
dribbled down my chin, thereby satisfying the requisite berry
triumvirate and making them a success in my book.

Berries_4

Yes, summer is definitely here. Now to enjoy the brief period of calm before the hum of 20 million air conditioners begins…

Leave a Reply

Signs of Summer

So many things say ‘summer has arrived’. The charcoal and lighter
fluid tang of neighbours barbecuing down the block; the shouts of kids
newly freed from stuffy classrooms and settling in for three months of sidewalk loitering; the permanent black streaks on your feet
that result from wearing flip flops in Manhattan. I recently reveled in
two of the more pleasant signs of summer…

Peonies are my June flower. I always have them in the house for my
husband’s birthday on the 12th. They are such a grand sensory
experience! And they have such personality too. They’ll stay closed in
tight, round buds for days, tricking you into thinking you’ve
bought faulty blooms. Then one morning you wake up and they’ve exploded
in a riot of petals and heady perfume. So here’s what I happened upon
today. Isn’t the splash of red peeping out such a nice surprise? I wish
you could smell them.

Peonies_2

And what would summer be without mountains of fresh fruit on which
to gorge yourself? I wish I could say this glistening bowl of
blueberries, blackberries and cherries ripened under the New York sun,
but in reality they came from South America via my local Costco. No
matter: their sweet juices stained my fingers, burst on my tongue and
dribbled down my chin, thereby satisfying the requisite berry
triumvirate and making them a success in my book.

Berries_4

Yes, summer is definitely here. Now to enjoy the brief period of calm before the hum of 20 million air conditioners begins…

Leave a Reply

