Afternoon Delight

In the wake of my recent ode to grey and white, here are some photos of my own attempts to channel the polished serenity of the images I posted yesterday.

The couch might look familiar. The rug is new. It’s nubby and soft, and it both brightens and anchors the space. Now if only I could a) get rid of the black iron bookshelf seen on the far right edge of the photo and b) strip the honey colored parquet floors and bleach them the color of driftwood. The former is doable in the course of time, but the latter is just too much work for a rental.

Couch3

Here’s a close-up of the occasional table behind the couch. The prints are vintage fashion illustrations from the 1920’s and deserve a post of their own–so stay tuned. I threw together the tablescape last night with random items culled from elsewhere in the house; I think I need to start buying books less for their content and more for the color of their spines.

Tablsescape_2

In other news, tonight I’m having my first go at homemade tamales. So check for a results post later this evening! – tamales wore me out, so check for the results post tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Afternoon Delight”

  1. Tonya Says:

    Tamales are no joke! Can’t wait to see/read about your efforts. Really enjoying your blog thus far.

  2. dolce chic Says:

    Your home is absolutely gorgeous! I wish I could talk my mom into removing the wallpaper and allowing me to paint the walls this color!

Leave a Reply

Afternoon Delight

In the wake of my recent ode to grey and white, here are some photos of my own attempts to channel the polished serenity of the images I posted yesterday.

The couch might look familiar. The rug is new. It’s nubby and soft, and it both brightens and anchors the space. Now if only I could a) get rid of the black iron bookshelf seen on the far right edge of the photo and b) strip the honey colored parquet floors and bleach them the color of driftwood. The former is doable in the course of time, but the latter is just too much work for a rental.

Couch3

Here’s a close-up of the occasional table behind the couch. The prints are vintage fashion illustrations from the 1920’s and deserve a post of their own–so stay tuned. I threw together the tablescape last night with random items culled from elsewhere in the house; I think I need to start buying books less for their content and more for the color of their spines.

Tablsescape_2

In other news, tonight I’m having my first go at homemade tamales. So check for a results post later this evening! – tamales wore me out, so check for the results post tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Afternoon Delight”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Ok so here’s my thinking. The reason I worry about making decorating (read: expensive!) decisions is because of the potential to change my mind in a financially unmanagiable timeframe. It’s not as though one can revamp ones livingrooom every year or two as one might one’s tank top or flip flop collection! What is one to do? I remember when you got that now-loathsome iron shelf and loved it! Knowing you, it probably wasn’t the least expensive choice either and so it begs the question: How does one decide how to decorate knowing full well that they’re going to want to change it in a year or two?

  2. dolce chic Says:

    Your home is absolutely gorgeous! I wish I could talk my mom into removing the wallpaper and allowing me to paint the walls this color!

Leave a Reply

