Grey Matter

P3269516dt_2

I've mentioned my obsession with neutral shades in passing, but allow me now to indulge myself. Though I sometimes manage to inject bright color into my decor, I usually end up same muted tones of grey, white, and taupe: colors with names like "mushroom, mouse, elephant, ecru, eggshell", and if I'm feeling really adventurous, "mauve". According to the principles of feng shui, grey and white bring a sense of purity and order, and in my house, we can certainly use a little help in the 'purity and order' department!

Curl up with a cup of tea and a copy of Pride and Prejudice at Sweetpea and Willow.

275classicalwhitevictoriachaise

A silky faux fur throw adds texture to crisp white linens and an upholstered bedframe.

275300creamfrenchupholstered5ftking

Sweet dreams are guaranteed when you put your bed under a flower chandelier.

Large_karlsholm_2

A sunbleached sitting room made even breezier by some casually tossed pillows.

P1219916dt_3

Gather friends around the table and dine only on white foods a la Erik Satie.

Goodhouse_2

Head over to  Knack and admire these platters–they're too pretty to use for serving food!

Greys_and_whites

And an image from the kitchen of Martha Stewart (the queen of 'purity and order' herself). Even the kittens match the color scheme!

Mla102028_0906_servery_xl

Like it? Stay tuned for a grey and white shopping trip. Though I don't think kittens will be on the agenda…

Leave a Reply

